Staff/Department Directory

Office of the President and Librarian

  • David Spadafora, President and Librarian
    spadaforad@newberry.org, (312) 255-3600
  • Meredith Petrov, Director of Governance and External Relations
    petrovm@newberry.org, (312) 255-3687

Communications and Marketing

  • Alex Teller, Manager of Communications and Editorial Services
    tellera@newberry.org, (312) 255-3676
  • Samantha Leshin, Visitor Assistant
    leshins@newberry.org, (312) 943-9090
  • Teresa Ryant, Visitor Assistant
    ryantt@newberry.org, (312) 943-9090
  • Andrea Villasenor, Graphic Designer
    villasenora@newberry.org, (312) 255-3712

Library Services

  • Alice D. Schreyer, Roger and Julie Baskes Vice President for Collections and Library Services
    schreyera@newberry.org, (312) 255-3590
  • Paul F. Gehl, George Amos Poole III Curator of Rare Books, and Custodian,
    John M. Wing Foundation on the History of Printing
    gehlp@newberry.org, (312) 255-3645
  • Will Hansen, Curator of Americana
    hansenw@newberry.org, (312) 255-3527

Collection Services Department

  • Alan Leopold, Director
    leopolda@newberry.org, (312) 255-3629

Acquisitions Section

  • Emma Morris, Acquisitions Manager
    morrise@newberry.org, (312) 255-3559
  • Linda M. Chan, Serials Librarian
    chanl@newberry.org, (312) 255-3561
  • Jenny Schwartzberg, Acquisitions and Collection Development Assistant
    schwartzbergj@newberry.org, (312) 255-3649
  • Patricia J. Wiberley, Serials Assistant
    wiberleyj@newberry.org, (312) 255-3561

Cataloging Section

  • Jessica Grzegorski, Principal Cataloging Librarian
    grzegorskij@newberry.org, (312) 255-3650
  • Graham Greer, Collection Services Assistant
    greerg@newberry.org, (312) 255-3649
  • Patrick A. Morris, Map Cataloging Librarian
    morrisp@newberry.org, (312) 255-3674
  • Cheryl Wegner, Cataloging Librarian
    wegnerc@newberry.org, (312) 255-3726

Cataloging Projects Section

  • Megan Kelly, Cataloging Projects Manager
    kellym@newberry.org, (312) 255-3628
  • Jennifer Dunlap, Cataloging Project Librarian
    dunlapj@newberry.org, (312) 255-3688
  • Sarah Furger, Project Assistant
    furgers@newberry.org
  • Margaret Joyce, Cataloging Project Librarian
    joycem@newberry.org, (312) 255-3562
  • Shawn Keener, Project Cataloging Assistant
    keeners@newberry.org, (312) 255-3649
  • Lindsey O’Brien, Project Cataloging Assistant
    obrienl@newberry.org, (312) 255-3649
  • Joy Orillo-Dotson, Project Assistant
    orilloj@newberry.org
  • Amanda Schriver, Project Cataloging Assistant
    schrivera@newberry.org, (312) 255-3649
  • Nicole Weber, Project Assistant
    webern@newberry.org

Conservation Services Department

  • Lesa Dowd, Director
    dowdl@newberry.org, (312) 255-3549
  • Linda Kinnaman, Conservation Technician
    kinnamanl@newberry.org, (312) 255-3551
  • Barbara Korbel, Collections & Exhibitions Conservator
    korbelb@newberry.org, (312) 255-3667
  • Virginia Meredith, Conservation Technician
    meredithv@newberry.org, (312) 255-3633
  • Elizabeth Zurawski, Senior Book Conservator
    zurawskie@newberry.org, (312) 255-3653

Reader Services Department

  • Will Hansen, Director
    hansenw@newberry.org, (312) 255-3527

Reference and Genealogy Services Section

  • Jo Ellen McKillop Dickie, Reference Librarian, Reference Team Leader
    dickiej@newberry.org, (312) 255-3522
  • Matthew Rutherford, Curator of Genealogy and Local History, Reference Team Leader
    rutherfordm@newberry.org, (312) 255-3671
  • Grace Dumelle, Genealogy and Local History Library Assistant
    dumelleg@newberry.org, (312) 255-3530
  • Ginger Frere, Reference Librarian
    frereg@newberry.org, (312) 255-3721
  • Kelly Frost, Reference Librarian
    frostk@newberry.org, (312) 255-3679
  • Jill Gage, Reference Librarian and Bibliographer of British History and Literature
    gagej@newberry.org, (312) 255-3635
  • Katie McMahon, Reference Librarian
    mcmahonk@newberry.org
  • Seonaid Valiant, Ayer Reference Librarian
    valiants@newberry.org, (312) 255-3521

General Collections Services Section

  • Margaret Cusick, General Collections Services Librarian, Reference Team Leader
    cusickm@newberry.org, (312) 255-3690
  • Nora Dolliver, General Collections Library Assistant
    dollivern@newberry.org
  • Matthew Krc, Stacks Coordinator
    krcm@newberry.org
  • Tyne Lowe, General Collections Library Assistant
    lowet@newberry.org
  • Timothy Warnock, General Collections Library Assistant
    warnockt@newberry.org

Roger and Julie Baskes Department of Special Collections Services

  • Lisa Schoblasky, Special Collections Services Librarian, Reference Team Leader
    schoblaskyl@newberry.org, (312) 255-3675
  • Chris Cialdella, Special Collections Library Assistant
    cialdellac@newberry.org
  • Nora Gabor, Special Collections Library Assistant
    gaborn@newberry.org, (312) 255-3518
  • Helen Hanowsky, Special Collections Library Assistant
    hanowskyh@newberry.org

Department of Maps & Modern Manuscripts

Maps Section

  • James R. Akerman, Curator of Maps
    akermanj@newberry.org, (312) 255-3523
  • Patrick A. Morris, Map Cataloger and Reference Librarian
    morrisp@newberry.org, (312) 255-3674

Modern Manuscripts Section

  • Martha Briggs, Lloyd Lewis Curator of Modern Manuscripts
    briggsm@newberry.org, (312) 255-3554
  • Catherine Grandgeorge, Project Archivist
    grandgeorgec@newberry.org
  • Alison Hinderliter, Manuscripts and Archives Librarian
    hinderlitera@newberry.org, (312) 255-3694
  • Kelly Kress, Senior Project Archivist
    kressk@newberry.org, (312) 255-3606
  • Ruby Oram, Raven Theatre Archives Intern
    oramr@newberry.org
  • Samantha Smith, Modern Manuscripts Accessioner
    smiths@newberry.org

Department of Digital Initiatives and Services

  • Jennifer Thom, Director
    thomj@newberry.org, (312) 255-3536
  • Christy Karpinski, Metadata Librarian
    karpinskic@newberry.org
  • Jennifer Wolfe, Digital Initiatives Librarian
    wolfej@newberry.org, (312) 255-3538

Digital Imaging Services

  • John Powell, Manager
    powellj@newberry.org, (312) 255-3566
  • Catherine Gass, Photographer
    gassc@newberry.org, (312) 255-3643

Department of Continuing Education

  • Kristin Emery, Fellowships and Seminars Manager
    emeryk@newberry.org, (312) 255-3533
  • Katie Gourley, Program Assistant
    gourleyk@newberry.org, (312) 255-3700
  • Mary Kennedy, Program Assistant
    kennedym@newberry.org, (312) 255-3602

Professional Development Programs for Teachers

  • Charlotte Wolfe Ross, Manager
    rossc@newberry.org, (312) 255-3672
  • Stephanie Fong, Program Assistant
    fongs@newberry.org, (312) 255-3525

Research and Academic Programs

  • D. Bradford Hunt, Vice President for Research and Academic Programs
    huntb@newberry.org, (312) 255-3535
  • Diane Dillon, Director of Scholarly, Undergraduate and Exhibition Programs
    dillond@newberry.org, (312) 255-3662
  • Kristin Emery, Fellowships and Seminars Manager
    emeryk@newberry.org, (312) 255-3533
  • Jessica Weller, Senior Program Assistant
    wellerj@newberry.org, (312) 255-3666

Center for Renaissance Studies

  • Karen Christianson, Interim Director
    christiansonk@newberry.org, (312) 255-3539
  • Andrew Epps, Program Assistant
    eppsa@newberry.org, (312) 255-3541
  • Catherine Mardula, Program Assistant
    mardulac@newberry.org, (312) 255-3514
  • Caroline Prud’Homme, Postdoctoral Scholar in French Paleography
    prudhommec@newberry.org, (312) 255-3659

Hermon Dunlap Smith Center for the History of Cartography

  • James R. Akerman, Director
    akermanj@newberry.org, (312) 255-3523
  • Peter Nekola, Assistant Director
    nekolap@newberry.org, (312) 255-3575
  • Jarrett Dunning, Program Assistant
    dunningj@newberry.org, (312) 255-3657
  • Andrew Epps, Program Assistant
    eppsa@newberry.org

The D’Arcy McNickle Center for American Indian and Indigenous Studies

  • Patricia Marroquin Norby, Director
    norbyp@newberry.org, (312) 255-3569
  • Madeleine Krass, Program Assistant
    krassm@newberry.org, (312) 255-3552

Dr. William M. Scholl Center for American History and Culture

  • D. Bradford Hunt, Acting Director
    huntb@newberry.org, (312) 255-3535

Development

  • Katy Hall, Vice President for Development
    hallk@newberry.org, (312) 255-3560
  • Sarah Alger, Director of Development
    algers@newberry.org, (312) 255-3544
  • Wendy Buta, Administrative Assistant to the Vice President for Development
    butaw@newberry.org, (312) 255-3581
  • Dan Crawford, Book Fair Manager
    crawfordd@newberry.org, (312) 255-3501
  • Vince Firpo, Annual Giving Manager
    firpov@newberry.org, (312) 255-3599
  • Veneese Mollison, Associate Director of Development for Donor Services
    mollisonv@newberry.org, (312) 255-3616
  • Jo Anne Moore, Associate Director of Development Events
    moorej@newberry.org, (312) 255-3556
  • Meredith Petrov, Director of Governance and External Relations
    petrovm@newberry.org, (312) 255-3687

Finance and Administration

  • James P. Burke, Jr., Vice President for Finance and Administration
    burkej@newberry.org, (312) 255-3567

Bookstore

  • Jennifer Fastwolf, Manager
    fastwolfj@newberry.org, (312) 255-3520
  • Samantha Leshin, Bookstore Sales Associate
    leshins@newberry.org

Business Office

  • Ron Kniss, Controller
    knissr@newberry.org, (312) 255-3572
  • Cheryl L. Tunstill, Staff Accountant
    tunstillc@newberry.org, (312) 255-3573

Information Technology

  • Drin Gyuk, Director
    gyukd@newberry.org, (312) 255-3664
  • Scott Stover, IT Support Technician
    stovers@newberry.org, (312) 255-3578
  • John Tallon, IT Support & Systems Administrator
    tallonj@newberry.org, (312) 255-3517

Facilities Management

  • Michael Mitchell, Facilities Manager and Chief Security Officer
    mitchellm@newberry.org, (312) 255-3546
  • Verkista Burruss, Facilities Coordinator
    burrussv@newberry.org, (312) 255-3540
  • Chris Cermak, Sr. Building Maintenance Worker
    cermakc@newberry.org, (312) 255-3596
  • Pete Diernberger, Building Maintenance Worker
    diernbergerp@newberry.org, (312) 255-3529

Human Resources

  • Judy Rayborn, Director
    raybornj@newberry.org, (312) 255-3660
  • Nancy Claar, Payroll Manager
    claarn@newberry.org, (312) 255-3574

Internal Services

  • Jason Ulane, Internal Services Coordinator
    ulanej@newberry.org, (312) 255-3695

Office of Events and Volunteers

  • Chayla Bevers Ellison, Director
    ellisonc@newberry.org, (312) 255-3605
  • Jessica Green, Assistant Director
    greenj@newberry.org, (312) 255-3555