Eligibility Requirements | Newberry

Eligibility Requirements

Carta executoria de hidalguía a pedimiento de Juan Hortiz Canpoy vecino de la villa del Haraal

Patent of nobility signed in Granada in the favor of the petitioner, Juan Ortiz Campoy. This fronticepiece includes the family coat of arms.

Ortiz Campoy, Juan, fl. 1600-1620; c. 1620

Case MS 5268

Please consider the following general eligibility requirements before applying for a Newberry fellowship. Some specific fellowships have additional eligibility requirements; please see the descriptions listed under Long-Term Fellowships, Short-Term Fellowships, and Publication Subventions for further details.

Academic Qualifications

Long-Term Fellowships are open only to scholars who have been awarded the PhD degree or other equivalent terminal degree by the Newberry’s application deadline.

Short-Term Fellowships are open to faculty members and postdoctoral scholars; PhD candidates with “All But Dissertation” (ABD) status; and scholars with terminal degrees in areas that do not offer a PhD (such as MFA, MLIS, MSW, JD, etc.).

The Newberry will only consider applicants who have achieved ABD status or terminal degree status by the Newberry’s application deadline. Applicants pursuing masters degrees in fields that grant PhDs are not eligible for Newberry fellowships. The Jan and Frank Cicero, the Arthur and Lila Weinberg Fellowship, and the Newberry Historical Fiction Writing Fellowship are exceptions to this rule, as they are open to individuals who do not have an advanced degree or are not working in academia, and who are working on creative projects.


  • The majority of Newberry fellowships–short- and long-term–are open to scholars of any nationality.
    • Exceptions include long-term fellowships funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities, which require recipients be either U.S. citizens or foreign nationals who have been in the U.S. for three years preceding application.
  • Citizens of foreign nations are eligible for all fellowships except the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) Fellowships.
  • The Newberry is eligible to sponsor international scholars under the J-1 visa.
  • Only applicants of North American Indian heritage are eligible for the Susan Kelly Power and Helen Hornbeck Tanner and Frances C. Allen Fellowships.

Chicago-Area Applicants

If you live or work in the Chicago-metropolitan area, you may be eligible for a short-term fellowship at the Newberry.

A limited number of short-term fellowships may be awarded to scholars from the Chicago area who meet one or more of the following criteria:

  • Graduate students at the all-but-dissertation, or ABD, stage (those who have completed all required coursework and successfully passed their qualifying exams and prospectus defense)
  • Adjunct, non-tenure track, or part-time faculty
  • Faculty whose teaching load is three courses or higher each semester/quarter throughout the academic year
  • Community college or teaching track faculty
  • Tenured or tenure-track faculty at Minority Serving Institutions
  • Independent scholars
  • Early career scholars, defined as scholars within five years of receiving their PhD

Chicago-area scholars who are not advised to apply and will not be considered for short-term fellowships include:

  • University or college tenure-track and tenured faculty members with access to departmental research funds
  • Retired or emeritus tenured faculty members

The Newberry defines the Chicago metropolitan area as the following counties:

  • In Illinois: Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Grundy, Kane, Kankakee, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, Will
  • In Indiana: Lake, LaPorte, and Porter
  • In Wisconsin: Kenosha

Any scholar whose principal residence or place of employment is within these counties is a Chicago-area resident.


Some Short-Term Fellowships are offered in partnership with academic organizations that require applicants to be members in order to be eligible for an award (examples include the American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies Fellowship and the Midwest Modern Languages Association Fellowship). Applicants are welcome to join these organizations before the Newberry’s application deadline in order to be considered for a fellowship. Please see Short-Term Fellowship descriptions for more information.

Past Awards

  • Applicants who have received a previous Newberry Short-Term Fellowship are eligible for a Long-Term Fellowship, either to continue work on the same project or work on a different one.
  • Previous recipients of Short-Term Fellowships are ineligible for a second Short-Term Fellowship for the same project.
  • The Newberry will not award a second fellowship (long-term or short-term) to a project that has already received a Long-Term Fellowship.
  • Previous recipients of Long-Term Fellowships cannot apply for a subsequent Long-Term Fellowship for a period of five years following their initial fellowship.