Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of the Newberry provides governance to the institution, with an emphasis on fulfilling the Newberry’s mission through strategic and major policy decisions. The Board also has statutory fiduciary responsibilities under State of Illinois and United States law and regulation.

The Board, which consists of Trustees and Life Trustees, holds four regular meetings per year. Much of its business is conducted through standing committees and special task forces or working groups.

2014-15 Trustees of the Newberry Library

Victoria J. Herget

Institutional Investment Advisor

David C. Hilliard

Vice Chair
Attorney, Partner
Pattishall, McAuliffe, Newbury, Hilliard, & Geraldson

David E. McNeel

Retired Managing Director
Bessemer Trust Company, N.A.

Mark Hausberg

Retired Senior Vice President of Finance and Treasurer
Fortune Brands, Inc.

Joan Brodsky

Civic Leader

T. Kimball Brooker

Barbara Oil Company

Frank Cicero Jr.

Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Andrew J. Fitzgerald

Managing Director
Hovde Group

Louise R. Glasser

Civic Leader

Hanna Gray

President Emerita and Harry Pratt Judson Distinguished Service Professor Emerita of History
University of Chicago

Sue Gray

Civic Leader

Robert H. Jackson

Kohrman Jackson & Krantz PLL

Kathryn Gibbons Johnson

Civic Leader

Lawrence Lipking

Chester D. Tripp Professor of Humanities
Northwestern University

Barry L. MacLean

MacLean-Fogg Company

James H. Marrow
Professor Emeritus
Princeton University

Andrew McNally IV

Retired Chief Executive Officer
Rand McNally

Cynthia E. Mitchell

Civic Leader

Janis W. Notz

Civic Leader

Gail Kern Paster

Director Emerita
Folger Shakespeare Library

Michael A. Pope

McDermott Will & Emery LLP

John P. Rompon

Managing Partner
McNally Capital

Martha T. Roth
Dean, Humanities Division
Chauncey S. Boucher Distinguished Service Professor of Assyriology
University of Chicago

Rudy L. Ruggles, Jr.

International Security Advisor, Retired

Paul T. Ruxin

Of Counsel
Jones Day

Karla Scherer

Chairman and CEO
The Karla Scherer Foundation

David B. Smith, Jr.

Executive Vice President and General Counsel
Mutual Fund Directors Forum

Harold B. Smith

Past Chairman
Retired Chairman of the Executive Committee
Illinois Tool Works, Inc.

Jules Stiffel

Retired Manufacturing Executive

Michael Thompson

Attorney at Law

Carol Warshawsky

Past Chairman
J. C. Whitney & Co.

Robert Wedgeworth, Jr.

Retired Librarian
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Peter S. Willmott

Chairman and CEO
Willmott Services

Life Trustees of the Newberry Library

Roger Baskes

Immediate Past Chair
Managing Partner
The Baskes Office

Anthony Dean

Retired President & Chief Operating Officer
The John Nuveen Company

Sister Ann Ida Gannon

Professor Emeritus, Philosophy Department
Mundelein College of Loyola University

Richard Gray

Richard Gray Gallery

Neil Harris

Professor, Department of History
University of Chicago

Stanley N. Katz

President Emeritus, American Council of Learned Societies
Professor, Woodrow Wilson School
Princeton University

C. Frederick Kittle, M.D.

Retired Thoracic Surgeon

Andrew W. McGhee

Past Chairman
Business Consultant (Self Employed)

Paul J. Miller

Retired Partner
SNR Denton

Kenneth Nebenzahl

Kenneth Nebenzahl, Inc.

Zoé Petersen

Civic Leader

Alyce Sigler

Civic Leader

Richard D. Siragusa

Retired Corporate Executive