Programs and Events | Newberry

Programs and Events

The Newberry offers programming in the humanities for scholars, teachers, and the general public. Unless otherwise noted, events are free, and no reservations are required. Many of our programs are recorded, and you can listen to them on our website.

E.g., 03/21/2018
E.g., 03/21/2018
Friday, March 30, 2018
Ellen Handy: Picturing the World in the Age of Mechanical Reproduction: Chicago’s Image Factories at the Center of the Continent Amy Mooney: Photos of Style and Dignity: Woodard’s Studio and the Delivery of Black Modern Subjectivity
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
The Disappearance of Class and Political Economy into Race and Culture
Friday, April 6, 2018
The Lynching of the Impious: Violence, Politics, and Religion in Mexico (1930s-1960s)
Thursday, April 12, 2018
Apocalypse Now: Thomas Jefferson’s Radical Enlightenment
Friday, April 13, 2018
Accounting for Insanity: The Paper Economy within the Bloomingdale Asylum
Friday, April 13, 2018
Daniel Greene, Northwestern University Writing for Museums: An Exhibition on Americans and the Holocaust
Friday, April 20, 2018
David-James Gonzales–From Metropolitan Borderland to Mexican Apartheid: Race, Place, and Labor in Orange County, CA, 1889 to 1930 Natalia Molina–Ethnic Mexicans as Place Makers in Mid-Twentieth-Century Los Angeles
Thursday, April 26, 2018
Will Bradley’s Art of Art Direction
Friday, April 27, 2018
Leveraging the ‘Kodak Zone’ Photography and the Making of Race and Class in the American Occupied Philippines
Friday, April 27, 2018
Englishmen at Sea: Sailors, Merchants, and Empire 1580-1620
Friday, May 4, 2018
(un)Holy Spies: Religion and American Espionage in World War II
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Moholy-Nagy and the Materiality of Industry