This building at 1352 South Union St. in Chicago was originally Zion German Evangelical Church. It eventually became Congregation Poale Zedeck, Gethsemane Missionary Baptist Church and later South Union Arts.
The original congregation was a member of the United German Evangelical Church of the Northwest, which merged with the German Evangelical Synod of the West (founded in St. Louis in 1840) in 1872. In 1877, the synod changed its name to the German Evangelical Synod of North America. The word “German” was dropped in 1925.
In 1934, a merger with the Reformed Church resulted in the Evangelical and Reformed Church, which in turn merged with the Congregational Christian Churches in 1957 to become the present day United Church of Christ.
For more details on the fascinating history of this building, search ChicagoAncestors.org by address (1252 South Union) or use the key word “Zion”.